Skip to main content

How can I stop items from being automatically added to my calendar?

When invited to a meeting or event by another user, you will have the event automatically added to your schedule and marked as tentative. This is done to avoid a third party attempting to schedule an event with you at the same time – if they view your free/busy information they will see that you may possibly be occupied. However, that default behavior may not be suitable for certain users, and they may desire to turn it off. To turn off this feature, open the Outlook desktop client, click the “File” tab at the top of the program window, then select “Options” from the list on the left. This will cause a popup to appear; select “Mail” from its left pane, then scroll down to “Tracking” and uncheck “Automatically process meeting requests and responses to meeting requests and polls.”

View All FAQs in this Section