Skip to main content

All About WCAG

Understanding Web Content Accessibility Guidelines

About WCAG

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) is the prevailing authority on accessibility standards. It is developed in collaboration with individuals and organizations globally with the goal of creating a universally accepted guideline for technical standards for web accessibility.

WCAG documentation describes and provides examples of how to make web and digital content accessible to people with disabilities. While the guidelines specify “Web” in the title, they are broad and can apply to all digital content, including websites, PDFs, Word documents, LMS courses, software, mobile apps, and more. In short, if the content can be interacted with digitally, WCAG can apply to it.

WCAG is broken down into four principles. Each level has numerous guidelines that are subject to one of three levels of success criteria.

The four principles that make up WCAG form the acronym POUR.

The three levels of success criteria are A, AA, and AAA.

  • A is the minimum required for a website to be considered accessible
  • AA is a middle ground that accommodates most disabilities
  • AAA is incredibly inclusive and generally denotes best practices, however it does limit design choices and functionality because of its strict guidelines


About Rutgers’ Accessibility Policy

The Rutgers World Wide Web Accessibility Policy (PDF) defines the standards for the accessibility and usability of web-based information and services to create an inclusive environment for students, faculty, and staff. This policy states that all Rutgers web pages should be in compliance with WCAG 2.0 Level AA. For more information on conformance and success criteria for the guidelines, see How to Meet WCAG (Quick Reference).


Further Reading

To learn more about WCAG, check out these sites: