Learn how to keep your web conference meetings secure, including key tips to avoid Zoombombing.

Prevent Zoombombing
Skip to main content

Inviting collaborators in Box

A collaborator is an individual who has been invited into a file or folder on Box. When a user is added to a file or folder as a collaborator, the item they’ve been invited to access will appear in their All Files page.

If you send a collaboration invitation to a person without a Box account, that person will be prompted to sign up with Box before being able to access the content.

Learn about getting started with a Box at Rutgers account.

NOTE: When someone with your enterprise’s domain receives an invitation to collaborate in a folder and they don’t yet have a Box account, an account will be provisioned and that user will automatically become a managed user under your enterprise instance.

Identify all created accounts when inviting collaborators

Admins can identify all accounts created this way through the Admin Console reporting section:

  • Do not select any groups so the report captures all users
  • Select Created new user under User and Group Management
  • The details column will show when the user was created by Collaboration Invite

To invite a collaborator into a folder

  1. Open the folder in which you’d like to invite collaborators
  2. In the Sharing tab of the right-hand sidebar, click Share this Folder
  3. In the dropdown menu that appears, click Invite Collaborators

Alternatively, you can:

  1. Locate the folder in which you’d like to invite collaborators
  2. Click Share to the right of the folder name
  3. In the dropdown that appears, click Invite Collaborators

share on folder

To invite a collaborator into a single file

  1. Open the folder in which the file is located
  2. Right click the file or click the ellipses (…) to open the More Options menu
  3. Click Share
  4. Select Invite Collaborators

invite collaborators

Once you have invited collaborators to the file, the Collaborator badge will be displayed beside the file’s name.

Additional info about inviting collaborators

  • When inviting collaborators to a single file, the only available access level is Editor.
    • Users can change this access level to Viewer from the Manage Collaborators page.
    • These are the only access levels available for collaborators on a single file.
  • All collaboration settings configured by enterprise admins apply to both single files and folders.
  • Free Box accounts are limited to three collaborators across their account.

Managing invitations from collaborators

Comments and creating tasks

Manage collaborators

Understand collaborator permission levels

Managed vs. external users